Education is stressed through scholarships; which are awarded by the National Society, State Societies, and Chapters at a number of other schools and colleges. Scholarship funds are given through the following committees: American Indian Scholarship, College of the Ozarks, National Defense, and Patriotic Education.  DAC members give thousands of volunteer hours to all these fine committees each year.


American Indian Scholarship Committee

The purpose of this committee is to collect scholarship funds to award to recipients of the RAIN program at the University of North Dakota.  These recipients will be awarded the National Society Daughters of the American Colonists Recruitment/Retention of American Indians into Nursing Scholarship at the University of North Dakota endowed scholarship. For more information about the RAIN program, please visit the University of North Dakota’s website.


College of The Ozarks

The purpose of this committee is to collect scholarship funds for the College of the Ozarks located at Point Lookout, Missouri. The College of the Ozarks (“Hard Work U”) is a four year privately supported college at which no student pays tuition. Educational costs are met by a required work-study program for every student; other expenses are provided by gifts and grants.