Service Categories

The 26 categories of acceptable colonial service are:
1.In battle under colonial authority
2.Under the banner of Great Britain in North America in any of the wars in which the colonists participated
3.All military and naval service of the colonies
4.Furnished troops or funds
5.Filled office of Governor, Lieutenant Governor or Deputy Governor
6.Member or Delegate to Council or Assembly
7.Member of House of Burgesses
8.Deputy or Representative to the General Court
9.Commissioner of the United Colonies, of Boundaries or Treaties, of Import or Excise, to the French or Indians
10.Secretary, Magistrate, Selectman, Justice, Judge of any Court of Law or Equity, Attorney, Advocate, Solicitor, Juryman, Sheriff, Constable, or other forms of civil service
11.Founder or Trustee of any College in North America
12.Minister of the Gospel or Commissary of the Bishop of London
13.Member of the Committee of Safety of the Continental Congress, 1774 and 1775
14.Member of the Council of Safety of 1689
15.Signers of the Mayflower Compact and documented Mayflower passengers who arrived in Plymouth and resided in the colonies
16.Speaker of the House of Deputies
17.Physician or Surgeon
18.Member of the Provincial Congress
19.Signer of the Declaration of Independence
20.Huguenot Refugee
21.Signer of the Oath of Allegiance to Great Britain
22.Original Land Owner, not inheritor
23.Member of the London, Plymouth or Virginia Companies who actually came to the colonies, or the first immigrant descendant of any member of these companies who resided in the colonies
24.Palatine Settler
25.Convenanter from Scotland who actually came to the Colonies or the first immigrant descendant of a Convenanter from Scotland
26.Salzburger of Georgia